Originally introduced in 2006, the BRC Global Standard for Storage and Distribution provides the essential certification link between the range of BRC Global Standards manufacturing Standards and the end user, such as the retailer or the food service company.

Developed by multi-stakeholder groups including industry representatives from certification bodies, food service organizations and retailers, the BRC Global Standard is designed to reflect best practice and facilitate a process of continuous improvement through a well-designed risk-based product safety management system.

The objective of the BRC Global Standard is to ensure that product integrity during the storage and distribution are maintained, and that customer confidence is upheld through audit and certification. The third edition of the BRC Global Standard for Storage and Distribution was published in 2016.

Structure of the BRC Global Standard

The BRC Global Standard is divided into eight sections:

1. Senior management commitment and continuous improvement
2. Hazard and risk analysis
3. Quality management system
4. Site and building standards
5. Vehicle operating standards
6. Facility management
7. Good operating practices
8. Personnel

Additional Modules cover wholesaling and services including contract parking, product inspection and waste recovery and recycling to acknowledge the various services provided by logistics companies